Rick James – Street Songs (1981) (Rarities Edition 2010) [FLAC]

Rick James – Street Songs (1981) (Rarities Edition 2010) [FLAC]

EAC | FLAC | Image (Cue&Log) ~ 615 Mb (incl 5%) |
Genre: R&B, Funk, Soul | Label: Motown | # B0013824-02 | Time: 01:17:32 | Scans included

“2010 stand-alone single disc release that contains all the bonus tracks featured on the second disc of the Deluxe Edition release of this album (ie: does NOT contain the original album, only the rarities associated with that release). Perfect for collectors who may have missed the double disc version or for those who are in search of all the great tracks that were initially exclusive to the Deluxe Edition. Rick James built on his late ’70s/early ’80s R&B chart success and poured everything he had into Street Songs, his fifth album for Motown. His hits from the album, ‘Give It To Me Baby’ and ‘Super Freak,’ were to dominate the charts for months. Just as the album was issued Rick, along with Teena Marie, did a mind-bending show in Long Beach, CA to promote the new LP. The band was hot, Rick was on top of the world, the audience went crazy. This ‘Rarities Edition’ brings you that incredible live show.”
“Part of the Rarities Edition series, which Universal distribution used as a way to spin off the second discs of its Deluxe Edition series, this disc, apart from an informational wraparound strip, looks identical to the original Street Songs. Unfortunately, the packaging masks the significance of the disc’s content, which amounts to the lone legitimate Rick James live set. A dynamite performance, it’s worthy of its own artwork and detachment from a catalog series. Technically taken from two Long Beach gigs that went down on July 30 and 31, 1981, as Street Songs was the number one R&B album in the U.S. — while opener Teena Marie held up the second spot with It Must Be Magic — the set is rather evenly spread between Street Songs and each of James’ earlier albums. James, backed by his Stone City Band, Punk Funk Horns, and Mary Jane Band, proficiently delivers everything (even “Mary Jane”) with a high level of energy. There’s plenty of stage-crowd interaction, with James acknowledging the Atlanta child murders, the killing of anti-racism activists in Greensboro, NC, and the death of Bob Marley, all recent events, yet without bringing down the party. A middle stretch features Teena Marie performing “I’m a Sucker for Love” (albeit with Levi Ruffin, Jr. taking James’ place) and “Square Biz” (which had just entered the R&B chart’s Top Ten). Of course, the remastered Street Songs itself, released in 2002 with the 12” mixes of “Give It to Me Baby” and “Super Freak,” is absolutely essential, but this release — for any Rick James freak — is pretty close to it.
Review by Andy Kellman, Allmusic.com


01. Introduction (01:46)
02. Ghetto Life (04:20)
03. Big Time (07:07)
04. Come Into My Life (04:14)
05. I’m A Sucker For Love (08:27)
06. Square Biz (07:00)
07. Fire It Up (03:34)
08. Love Gun (05:42)
09. Do You Want Some Funk ?! (02:21)
10. Mary Jane (10:39)
11. Super Freak (04:21)
12. You And I (11:48)
13. Give It To Me Baby (06:05)






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>